My project being used for fraud

mr mrintegrity at gmail.com
Thu Nov 20 21:46:00 CET 2008


2008/11/20 Kurt Fitzner <kfitzner at excelcia.org>

> I am the author of a disk imaging utility called SelfImage.  It seems
> that a fly-by-night web site offering a product called "Witsoft Drive
> Backup 8" has been actually selling SelfImage.  The screen shots they
> show of their "product" look substantially different than my program,
> and they mention features SelfImage doesn't have.
>

How do you know it's your software? Have you purchased what they sell?


>
> Now, from a legal standpoint, while this is certainly fraudulent to the
> end purchaser, my take is that the only standing I would have to
> complain would be regarding them distributing my software without at
> least a written offer of the source code.
>
> Even finding out who they are is likely to be painful.  The web sites
> they operate from seem to change rapidly (wit-soft.com was the original
> site, now it's wiitsoft.com), and there are of course no names or phone
> numbers anywhere.  The only way I can think of to find out who they are
> is to go after the money trail - find out who the software
> registration/payment company they use is sending the money to.  This
> will require some legal action.  I would like to do what I can, but I
> certainly don't have the resources to hire a lawyer.
>
> My questions are, does gpl-violations.org help with this sort of thing?
>  Do they operate outside of Germany?  Are there any other ideas on how
> to track down a real person at this "witsoft"?
>
> Any advice I can get would be appreciated.
>
> Regards,
>
>     Kurt Fitzner
>
>
-------------- next part --------------
An HTML attachment was scrubbed...
URL: <http://lists.gpl-violations.org/pipermail/legal/attachments/20081120/5481c59a/attachment.htm>


More information about the legal mailing list