My project being used for fraud
Kurt Fitzner
kfitzner at excelcia.org
Thu Nov 20 20:32:26 CET 2008
I am the author of a disk imaging utility called SelfImage. It seems
that a fly-by-night web site offering a product called "Witsoft Drive
Backup 8" has been actually selling SelfImage. The screen shots they
show of their "product" look substantially different than my program,
and they mention features SelfImage doesn't have.
Now, from a legal standpoint, while this is certainly fraudulent to the
end purchaser, my take is that the only standing I would have to
complain would be regarding them distributing my software without at
least a written offer of the source code.
Even finding out who they are is likely to be painful. The web sites
they operate from seem to change rapidly (wit-soft.com was the original
site, now it's wiitsoft.com), and there are of course no names or phone
numbers anywhere. The only way I can think of to find out who they are
is to go after the money trail - find out who the software
registration/payment company they use is sending the money to. This
will require some legal action. I would like to do what I can, but I
certainly don't have the resources to hire a lawyer.
My questions are, does gpl-violations.org help with this sort of thing?
Do they operate outside of Germany? Are there any other ideas on how
to track down a real person at this "witsoft"?
Any advice I can get would be appreciated.
Regards,
Kurt Fitzner
More information about the legal
mailing list