Does Server Elements violate the GPL?

mrintegrity mrintegrity at gmail.com
Tue Oct 2 21:50:07 CEST 2007


I asked for the source code, this is what they replied:

>An offer and instructions on acquiring the sources is provided on the 
>NASLite-2 CD.
>
>Thanks for your interest.
>
>Tony.

Can you look to see on your CD if this is correct?

Alan


On Tue, 2007-10-02 at 00:29 -0700, Yvo van Doorn wrote:
> Hi there,
> 
> I recently came across a company called Server Elements which
> distributes a program called Naslite.  for $29.95 for each of their
> versions. The program uses the Linux 2.4 kernel, various drivers and
> various other GPL software such as netatalk, samba, and rsync. The
> software requires you to activate your license on their website. You
> buy a copy for $29.95, they provide a download link which is only good
> for 15 downloads and/or 90 days (which ever comes first) and once you
> have the program installed you have to obtain a plugin code to
> activate all the GPL services from the program.
> 
> They provided source code to their 1.x software 2-3 years ago but
> nothing to their Naslite-2 which uses even more GPL released programs.
> 
> I know they can charge for GPL software but aren't they required to
> release the source code as well?
> 
> It just seems like this is a very similar scam to that of Sveasoft and
> their pay firmware for the Linksys WRT54G.
> 
> Am I wrong, if so please tell me or am I right and if so what can we
> do to get Server Elements to do the right thing.
> 




More information about the legal mailing list