Does Server Elements violate the GPL?

Yvo van Doorn yvo.vandoorn at gmail.com
Tue Oct 2 09:29:27 CEST 2007


Hi there,

I recently came across a company called Server Elements which
distributes a program called Naslite.  for $29.95 for each of their
versions. The program uses the Linux 2.4 kernel, various drivers and
various other GPL software such as netatalk, samba, and rsync. The
software requires you to activate your license on their website. You
buy a copy for $29.95, they provide a download link which is only good
for 15 downloads and/or 90 days (which ever comes first) and once you
have the program installed you have to obtain a plugin code to
activate all the GPL services from the program.

They provided source code to their 1.x software 2-3 years ago but
nothing to their Naslite-2 which uses even more GPL released programs.

I know they can charge for GPL software but aren't they required to
release the source code as well?

It just seems like this is a very similar scam to that of Sveasoft and
their pay firmware for the Linksys WRT54G.

Am I wrong, if so please tell me or am I right and if so what can we
do to get Server Elements to do the right thing.



More information about the legal mailing list